Options

I would like to get an estimate on salary expectations.

chainusmcchainusmc Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
My company is currently sending us through a few certifications in order to be compliant with certain regulations. Once I get these certifications though, they will not be paying us any more. Should I look elsewhere? We are getting out A+, Network +, CCNA, and SSCP certs. I have almost three years experience as an operator/tech. Where else should I look and what kind of salrary should I expect?

Comments

• Options
    YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Oh, the pitfalls of training your employees :)

First consider that the type of training your employer is providing you is pretty expensive and a tremendous benefit to you. If I'm on the job market one of the things I look for is a place I know I can grow. So first of all, it sounds like you have a pretty good situation where you're at now. Have you considered asking your management about moving to a more lucrative / higher responsibility job within the company once you obtain those certifications?

Remember, you typically get paid for the job you do, not how much you know - Also remember that once you and the rest of your team get trained, your knowledge is not unique; everyone on your team is certified. So it makes sense that you won't be paid more simply because you passed some exams that everyone else passed too. On the company dime no less.

Oh, and to answer your question: What do you want to do for a living? You'll need to figure that out first before people can tell you where to look.
  • Options
    higherhohigherho Member Posts: 882
    I seriously would be so happy if my current company did this for me =/ I wrote a two page justification on why my company should pay for my CCNA exam test and how it will help my role. I quickly got denied =/
  • Options
    m3zillam3zilla Member Posts: 172
    higherho wrote: »