Options

Brick and Mortar vs WGU

ODNationODNation Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
Would like to pose a question to those lurking the forums. A little background... I've been working at a Fortune 500 company for about 7 years now and I got promoted to Senior Systems Admin last week along with a raise. The only thing working for me at this point is my experience and certifications that I have. I am currently 30 years old and I do worry about where I'll be in 20 years without a degree. I decided to enlist at the Univ of Toledo (fully accredited) and enroll into their Information Technology program that is part of the College of Engineering. To be honest, this program is a f***ing joke. There is nothing practical or real world about what they're teaching for IT. So anyways, I started yesterday by taking two elective classes (Critical Thinking and Tech Writing), and I'm seriously debating on dropping these classes and applying to WGU.

In your opinion, do you think that a degree from WGU is equal to or even more valuable than a degree from a fully accredited college? I guess I'm looking long term. Will WGU be well-known to hiring managers and HR personnel? I want to say yes based on where our society is headed with education - but I can't help but doubt a school that nobody has really ever heard of.

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    B&M will always be more respected. That's not to say that I don't have respect for WGU students, anyone on TE knows that I do. Also, if you can get a degree from a school in your region or state than it will benefit you for instance, you never know when the hiring manager may be an Alumnist, or if you might get a job because of your connection with the school. Also, HR will have heard of the Univ of Toledo while WGU will be less known.
  • Options
    IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod