Options

Old servers VS new desktops ?

JayTheCrackerJayTheCracker Member Posts: 169
hi

i'm newbie to virtualization. i'm studying cisco & linux using gns3 & kvm.
i have a laptop, but, it can't handle the GNS3 labs. so, i'm in need of a new machine.
i won't use so many services, it will be just for home labbing.

i was thinking of buying 1 or 2 used dell server (1950) or smth.
but they use ddr2 ram which is expensive now.

or should i just order a desktop with 3770k (i7) with 16gb ddr3 ram ?

would like to know difference between server motherboards & desktop motherboards ?

Thanks..

Comments

• Options
    AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    You'll probably get real mixed suggestions on this topic. Personally for a lab environment I would go the desktop route for a few reasons:

1. Noise/power/space. Personally I wanted something small, quiet and power efficient that I can leave on 24/7. A couple of 1950s are going to be very loud, have a high power draw and be really awkward space wise unless you have a rack.

2. Upgrades. There isn't much you can do to upgrade an old server like a 1950 whereas a desktop can be quite easily upgraded.

3. Warranty. For my lab I bought a $500 dell, added $40 of ram and a SSD. The best part? -It all has at least a 3-year warranty. If your 1950 fails a week from now you're just out whatever you paid for it.

Now the drawback is reliability. You're not likely to have dual power supplies or hot swappable components but that's not to say you should expect any more problems. My view is that this isn't really a huge drawback in a lab environment. My dell desktop has been running ESXi flawlessly with quite a few servers virtualized on it since the day I got it.

You will definitely want to make sure the processor you choose is VT-X compatible which most recent i7s are.
  • Options
    KenCKenC Member Posts: 131