Options

Any tips for an SAP support job interview?

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
I was recently contacted by a recruiter about a potential SAP support tier 2 position. This is part of an engagement effort with a service provider and the company/customer.

I was flat out honest about being interested in the job even though it's been two years since I touch that ERP. I have very little technical knowledge, but some functional, something you would find on a help desk. No specialized skills in one module, but general knowledge of several modules. I told the account manager flat out I am not a SME in one particular module and he said don't worry about that.

I just wanted to vent. It sounds like my interview will be in July with a start date in the next following months, if I am selected.

It's very vertical, the only thing I could think of to do is buy an SAP R3 book (high level) and read through it to jog my memories of when I did support these modules. I spent ~3 years supporting SAP along with a host of other applications so I'm not a complete rookie.

Sorry for the rant I am a bit nervous and really hope this comes through.

Comments

• Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Best of luck on the interview. It's always great just to get an interview.

I don't have any specific advice. Picking up a book and reading through it sounds like a good idea.
  • Options
    Thanks for chiming in Paul
  • Options
    newmovenewmove Member Posts: 108
    I'm actually studying the FI module now.... I hope you do well. SAP is good!
  • Options
    @ Newmove

The modules I have experience in FICO, MM, ESS, CRM, and BW.

I have a BW book which is extremely indepth, it covers how to configure and deploy a BW module in an enterprise environment. I've been reading through it on occasions, but I really need to get into the R3 book.
  • Options
    newmovenewmove Member Posts: 108
    N2IT wrote: »
    @ Newmove