Options

Network Monitoring Solutions

PetrinodaPetrinoda Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I got my degree/certs and am looking into starting my own Consultant business. I'm looking into Network Monitoring solutions for small business and was wondering what you guys would recommend? I want to monitor individual computers/servers and look at statistics. Be able to remote view to any computer on the network for end-user problems etc..

I was looking at Spiceworks and it looked very interesting for something being free, but I'm new to the game and am willing to take in all the information I get. So anything you guys got off the top of your head go head and spindle em off :)

Comments

• Options
    KenCKenC Member Posts: 131
    Nagios seems to be the standard. Not sure you should be consulting if you are only new in this game.
  • Options
    MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    PRTG is awesome! I highly recommend it.
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    chaser7783chaser7783 Member Posts: 154
    We use Zenoss here. We monitor a mix of Windows workstations/Servers, and embedded Linux devices and servers. Currently we are monitoring around 3k devices. We are able to see disk usage, and monitor critical services, and are sent e-mail alerts based on rule sets, and if the devices go offline.
  • Options
    So far so good guys. Keep em coming.

Ken. I agree with you to an extent. That's why I'm getting a list together. I'm trying them all out on a test environment to see how they interact in different situations/scenarios. Once I feel comfortable/confident with my selection I will start going out and getting clientele and offering them a 30 day free trial of my services.
  • Options
    chaser7783 wrote: »