Options

Beginner Home Lab

deadhead85deadhead85 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for the CCNA exams, and am interested in doing the CCNP next. What hardware and how many is needed for a basic home lab?

I don't really know much about the hardware yet, but would like to start looking and piecing together a lab.

And on another noob level...how do I go about installing it? Will it affect my current setup? I have my modem plugged into a wireless router, then an ethernet cable attached to a switch to connect all my computers, WDTV Live, and XBox together. What is the starting point for installing the home lab?

Thanks a lot for helping out a noob! icon_study.gificon_study.gif

Comments

• Options
    GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
    3 x 2620xm routers
    2 x 2950 switches
    cables
    rack
    some WIC cards
  • Options
    deadhead85deadhead85 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks a lot for the help!

...AND THE HUNT BEGINS!!!! icon_twisted.gif
  • Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You could also look into the 3550 Switches. I have two of them and find them to be pretty neat.

They can act like the 2950 Switches but they are also L3-capable so you can do routing with them too.
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • Options
    MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I've heard that the 3560 switches will be very handy for the SWITCH exam.
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    SomnipotentSomnipotent Member Posts: 384
    MAC_Addy wrote: »

mainly for implementing private vlans as the 3550s do not fully support PVLAN configurations. ipv6 support is also another big deal :)
    Reading: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture (D. Comer)
  • Options
    nerdydadnerdydad Member Posts: 261
    MAC_Addy wrote: »