Linux From Scratch Experience

hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
This is my first time with LFS. crash.gif But first, I gotta rant as I have just wasted 6 days of my life trying to successfully build Hardened LFS. My biggest complaint about it is how the guide left out details that I needed to know in an event the build got interrupted before I can even finish. I was almost done (I was on Chapter 7), and then I accidentally ejected the DVD drive. For some reasons, my LiveCD distro froze. I thought it would resume as soon as I close the drive as everything is running in the RAM but it didn't.

But the weird thing is once I got to Chapter 7 and 8, I was unable to install GRUB, because the /dev/sda is not mounted which confused me. I tried checking using the fdisk command, but there was no output and it said it couldn't open anything in the /proc directory. I could have sworn I installed all packages as I was copying and pasting every texts in the book up to that point, and I was already done with the package installations in Chapter 5 and 6 before I had to reboot it. I wonder why couldn't I get the fdisk command to work properly in the environment that I chrooted in? I even remounted the partitions back the way they were and chrooted back in the system with the commands at the end of Chapter 6, and I still feel like I am missing an important set of instructions.

I'm done with LFS for a while. Not going back to it sometimes soon. My biggest mistake with HLFS is trying to manually type in every text with the terminal-only live distro the first four days when I can get through 5 and a half chapter in a day. I thought I would learn more from the first approach I did, but I don't feel like I am learning a lot from it other than knowing the minimum package requirement to run it. If I were you, I would just run the darn thing in VM. If only today isn't the 13th, I probably wouldn't have to deal with this.

Comments