We can't pay you more because you don't have a B.S.

2»

Comments

• FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    dave330i wrote: »
    It's at the beginning of your career that not having a B.S. isn't a big deal.

LOL are you kidding me? if it wasnt for my b.s. degree i would be making 10k less a year considering i am a new graduate
  • NoTime2BurnNoTime2Burn Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    N2IT wrote: »
    ... I had to take at MSU...

Small world. I took some CS classes at MSU. Never finished the degree, which is why I'm at WGU now.

(Go Spartans!)
  • HLRSHLRS Banned Posts: 142
    wow that's surprising, BA/BS should be equivalents just major are different.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I wouldn't go that far, HLRS. BA's tend to be much focused on arts, gened, or the application of soft sciences. B.S. degrees are generally more focused on deep theory of soft sciences or theory of and application of hard sciences. They are different both in the real abilities and knowledge imparted upon those that pursue them and their value in the market place.

However, I will agree that it is not a major factor in employment, and hence I think this one instance was not an example of the market as a whole for IT.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    PT is correct but I still find it bizarre that they would pay less for a B.A.
  • dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    N2IT wrote: »
    PT is correct but I still find it bizarre that they would pay less for a B.A.

Bachelor of Arts vs. Bachelor of Science. When you read stories of recent grad with huge student loan and no means to pay it off they usually have B.A.