Options

Transitioning into a more pure engineering role

ltgenspecificltgenspecific Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

Well, it's about time for me to start to make a career transition as it looks like I've topped out in my current area and with my current employer. I'd really like to move into a more pure network engineering role and am currently on the hunt. I thought maybe I could open the floor to advice from folks currently fulfilling those direct engineering roles for advice, any and all is welcome...

Backstory
I am currently an IT engineer for a large, national organization but specialize in integration of in-office IT and MPS solutions. I spend more time on-site with customers wrangling over details of driver installations and user issues than I care to admit. That being said, it's sort of obvious that while I enjoy the title "Engineer" I don't see much actual network engineering action and I would like to change that. The direction of my current organization doesn't seem to have much in this genre as they are in transition to becoming a software-house (with on-site customer support).

I'm working on a re-take of ICND2 coming up in 2 weeks and have gotten some great advice (from this board) as to certification path's etc. I look forward to adding the cert to my resume soon.

So...
Anyone have any (and I mean any) advice on breaking into a more concentrated role? (Oh and preferably in Florida or Texas, I would like to move away from Seattle to be closer to family *finger's crossed*). Hopefully I'm not shooting for the moon on this, thanks in advance!! :)

Comments

• Options
    effektedeffekted Member Posts: 166