Options

How do I go from military IT to civilian IT.

CyltinCyltin Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello there! As a caveat I'd like to say that I'm new to the forums and really had no idea on where to place this particular question. I'm a Staff Sergeant in the Army currently and made the decision, after ten years, to make the transition to civilian life for my family.

That being said, I've been doing IT for those ten years but more in a 'learn this now!' sense when things are thrown in front of me. I've also run a 'helpdesk' of over thirty personnel in the past for a few years.

The military is finally giving me the ability to go for my certifications, and I've already recieved my Security+ and am testing for my Network+ tomorrow.

That being said, the military is all about CompTIA and I've gotten the vibe that the civilian side is more about Cisco than anything else, am I right on that?

With that assumption, I'm thinking it might be hard to make myself marketable to employers with just a Network+ and Security+ certification, especially considering I would like to make $50k+ when I transition.

So I guess my real question is, what are the certifications I should really be trying to get before I leave the service in nine months? I've found that I have a particular affinity for the security side of things but I really don't know which route to take to get either on the Network tech or Security side of things.

If anyone could provide me with any information regarding the paths I should take for either line of certifications it would be appreciated.

Also, is it better to pay for classes to get these certs or simply go off of books and exam preps? Like I said, total newb to the civilian way of doing things.

Comments

• Options
    YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    In the ten years of your experience, what technologies have you been working with?
  • Options