Options

Anyone have some good resume formats? Also questions about entry level position

tom_dubtom_dub Member Posts: 59 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all, I'm currently employed in the security industry (loss prevention, bouncing) and am looking to get out asap. I'm also currently in college for Computer Science with about a year left until I get an Associate's.

My job experience in anything IT related is basically none...However, I have many years of customer service related experience due to the various jobs I've worked and stayed with in the past. Also, I received an I-net+ certification back in my high school days in 2004, that certification is actually no longer offered. Received HALF of an A+ one as well due to not passing the 2nd test, I would take a guess that it is expired though.

What I'm asking is, does anyone have any good resume formats specifically for an entry level IT job? I know certain resume types cater better to specific occupations. Should I list my I-net+ cert on there even though it isn't offered anymore? How about current schooling? I basically need something to stand out. I'm unable to get any certs at the moment due to being overwhelmed with summer school and work but later this summer I'd like to try for an A+ cert. Is this a good cert to have or would something else be more valued?

I found this IT helpdesk job on craiglist that pays $12-14 an hour and lists:

""Ideal candidate will have more than 1 year of related work history. Must be positive, proactive, able to multitask and work in a call center environment. Be familiar and somewhat fluent with Microsoft Office suite 2007 and up. Also have phone experience and possess a solid understanding of basic computer concepts and troubleshooting. Associates degree / certification in technology field is a plus.
(Will be asked to provide proof of Associates degree / certification.) ""