Options

Future IT Guy (hopefully, maybe...eventually)

UnisticUnistic Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello!

First I've been looking at this website for the past two weeks. There's tons of information and great stories to read and this is in fact my first post because I need advice. First off I'm in the military going on eight years now. I'm a combat arms instructor and my job is to teach people how to fire weapons this is an awesome job. But my I've always had an interest in computers and all around technology.

I've recently finished my bachelor degree in criminal justice (military required CCAF). I really wanted to go to Western Governors University but I don't have an IT associate nor any actual experience in IT I'm just a fan so i couldn't get in. I'm now going to go to American Military University for a bachelor degree in Information Technology.

I was studying for comptia A+ which is really really dry except for the hands on part. I really want to get into this field and there's no real way until I get out of the military. From this site I saw IT boot camps that the GI Bill will pay for.

Will going to these boot camps for the entry level certs i.e A+ Net+ Sec+ would be a good idea for some one with no experience to gain a little along with some certs. I can take leave and go to the boot camps. I'm a really fast learner if there's a purpose to it.

Basically I'm a newbie who loves IT and I need you guys with the great knowledge and experience to put me on a decent path. I really wanted to go to WGU to get the degree along with the certs :/

Once again new guy looking for advice..... Its hard to get hands on training in IT when my military job doesn't relate to it at all.

Thanks!!!!

Comments

• Options
    Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□