How to transition into Network Administration

JackaceJackace Member Posts: 335
Like a few others that have posted here in the past I am trying to make the career move from where I am now (data center operations) into Network Administration. My background is I have a bachelor's degree in Information Technology Management: Network Administration and my CCNA. I have worked in Desktop support with some junior system and network administration tasks included, I have worked help desk, and now I am working data center operations support. The problem I'm having is every job wants someone with work experience. Moving up with my current employer is most likely not going to happen in this decade. We just have too many people all waiting to move up and no one is leaving or retiring. I am however getting access to networking projects after asking one of our network engineers for guidance and mentoring. Now it just comes down to landing that first job, but when level 1 jobs require 3-5 years experience and no employers seem willing to train I just don't understand how I am supposed to break into this industry.

In order to make myself stand out more I'm pursuing more certifications (CCNA Security and Voice) and working on projects at work that have a networking focus. Sadly there won't be any real chance for me to move up with my current company, but I am looking for advice on how to approach finding a new job as a network administrator when every job requires experience doing the job on a day to day basis and I have none?

Comments

• RouteThisWayRouteThisWay Member Posts: 514
    I am working on a thread that answers this question in my professional experience, but- I will toss some advice your way.

First off, it sounds like you are in a good position- especially since one of the engineers there is getting you access to some of the network projects.