Options

Becoming stale/disinterested in your current position

ck86ck86 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm working my second civilian IT job after my time in the military and find my job quickly becoming stale and my IT skills hardly improving. I went from a sysadmin type position that was overworked and underpaid to a new position that is extremely laid back, decent paying, working with a great boss.. but the work I do I find very uninteresting. I've learned some linux troubleshooting, but nearly all of my day surrounds learning and doing tech support tickets/calls for a media broadcasting product that I would probably never use again outside of here. My original motivation for taking the job was learning linux, but that is only basic digging in logs and troubleshooting a buggy product. I still have things to learn with it, but honestly it doesn't interest me hardly at all. My previous job as a sysadmin I felt similar, but mostly because things were in such disarray that I felt what I was learning was mostly bad practices to avoid and my position allowed me to do very little to fix them. I guess I'm just wondering if this is normal and why people constantly switch jobs in IT.

It's hard to give up a position in a start-up with a great boss, great co-workers and a high possibility of one day pulling some serious cash if I stick around (company only has ~30 employees, I'd say 1/3 of them are millionaires and high chance of good $$ from stock options) purely because I'm bored as hell. I guess the other option would be finding a different role within the company, but the only other IT-related position that may open sometime in the near future is one far above my experience in networking/linux sysadmin work.

Any advice/personal input would be great. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I've grown recently myself and have felt the way you have before. I have bailed on opportunities that now I wish I never had.