Options

logging onto a domain

duct boyduct boy Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi, I just set up a Domain on one of my laptops running windows 2003 server
I setup my other laptop running xp pro and connected the 2, by a netgear router. The reason for doing this as im studying for 70-270 and
need experience in a domain enviroment as i have never seen one before. The problem is it takes about 5 minutes to log onto the server from my xp machine is this normal or have i mucked something up.
Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Well, I'm not real great at this myself, but I want to be sure that when you say that you're "logging onto the server", what you mean is that you're logging onto the domain at the XP machine. You log onto the server at the server or by some remote means from another PC that is already on the domain. What happens is that your account is accepted as valid according to username and password that you enter at the XP machine by the account information in Active Directory.(I'm thinking out loud here, for the most part.)

When you finally get logged onto the domain, can you access the shares that you have created on the Server? And, does the XP machine show up in Computers in Active Directory Users and Computers? Can you log onto the domain at the server OK with the same user account? And, can you access the shares on the XP machine from the server? Have you experienced this slowness at the XP machine every time you've logged on? It figures the first time, maybe, because the account has to be created on that machine.

It seems to me that laptops are notoriously slow anyway(compared to a desktop anyway.)