Options

Need Advice for passing the 70-680 Certification!

MarquiseMarquise Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I'm new to techexams, but I really need some advice. I've recently passed my A+ certification two weeks ago now, I'm working on the MCTS 70-680. I wanna know what resources should I use to be fully prepared for the exam? Right now im using the Don Poulton book and professormesser vidoes. If anyone passed this this cert can you please put me on the right path. I'm currently 21 staying in Washington D.C. My career goal is to be some type of administrator, I really don't know what IT position I wanna go for because its just so many.

Thanks ALOT!!!

Comments

• Options
    kanecainkanecain Member Posts: 186 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Download and install VirtualBox and install Windows 7 on it. Labbing with the book and videos is pretty much required with this cert. I would also create a bunch of flash cards and take a lot of notes. Don't be fooled by the fact its a OS certification. It's one of the hardest out there without proper preparation.
    WGU - Bachelors of Science - Information Security
    Start Date: Jan. 1st, 2012
    Courses:
    Done!!!
  • Options
    MarquiseMarquise Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks alot for the advice. Im gonna put it into play right now. Im on the deploying chapter in it's just spinning my head around.
  • Options
    embraceITembraceIT Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I think you will find the "sticky folders" that are listed at the top of this forum have a fantastic amount of online resource material. The 70-680 exam objectives requires more than a superficial rote memory of Windows 7 facts. Rather, you have to demonstrate understanding of a wide range of Windows 7 subject areas -- some in considerable detail. I used the Poulton book and Messer's videos too -- and barely passed. What helped me get into the winners circle was referring again and again to contents in the sticky folders.