Options

Value of a Degree?

AlexMAlexM Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
It's not a question I intended to ask, having planned to start Open University early next year after completing the MCITP:SA/MCSA 2008 and CCNA, however I've noticed due to government funding cuts the price has now skyrocketed, costing more than treble the amount it did last year.

I have no wish to take on any debt, but I'm also not prepared to pay £15,000 out of my own pocket for a degree (especially as, last year, it would have cost ~£4,500) however I've seen many jobs looking for employees holding a degree and I have no wish to hold myself back in later years.

The degree I am (or at least, was) interested in is this one - BSc (Honours) Computing & IT and a second subject: Business with networking pathway.

Would you consider a degree to be worth it, at that cost? If not, what would you consider instead?

I'm currently a Systems Administrator with 6 years of experience, looking to move to a more advanced role with exposure to Cisco and VMWare environments, then Infrastructure Design / Project work (and a long term goal of Management).

Comments

• Options
    CerebroCerebro Member Posts: 108
    I'm considering the same course, I've sent them some modules I've completed elsewhere and my CCENT certificate in the hopes of credit transfer.
    2014 goals: ICND2[]

• Options
    ZorodzaiZorodzai Member Posts: 357 ■■■■■■■□□□
    @OP - have you considered the University of London International Programs, they have have a program BSc Information Systems and Management with total cost for the degree working out to ~4000 pounds

BSc Information Systems and Management | University of London International Programmes
  • Options
    AlexMAlexM Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I hadn't seen that, I'll take a look. Thanks.
  • Options
    ZorodzaiZorodzai Member Posts: 357 ■■■■■■■□□□