Cisco router and switch setup questions (never done this before!)

sratakhinsratakhin Member Posts: 818
I'm going to install a Cisco 2911 Router along with a 3560 switch for a customer in about two weeks. Even though I'm a CCNA, I've never touched any Cisco equipment in my life. I have some experience with HP networking gear, but that's it. I was hesitant about doing it but I figured why not try? So I ordered a couple of routers and switches to practice in my home.

What should I pay attention to? What issues may arise while I'm on site?

P.S. Please move the topic if it's not in the right section :)

Comments

• emerald_octaneemerald_octane Member Posts: 613
    2911? Ok just bang your head up against the wall real quick because that's all you're gonna get out of it.

Just kidding. I am also in the planning/implementation phases for this router as well and am just getting towards the end of testing.

First off make sure you purchased the right software license. If you want advanced routing or policy based routing or dual WAN failover , get the data-k9 license ($500). I had to find this out the hard way so we will not implement dual wan in our environment for now.

Firewall, VPN , IPS, etc functionality? You'll need the SEC/k9 license. Then for SSLVPN you will need per user license.

Otherwise you can get up to speed quickly if you use cisco configuration professional. In order to actually connect to it you will need to console in briefly to configure IP on the interfaces and fire them up (which can be done using a mini USB connection on the ISR routers). But after you config ssh/telnet and http/s then you can use CCP to config the WAN interface, NAT, DHCP et all. Firewall and performance routing again if you've paid for it. Of course when it's all said and done you will need to lock it down. For some reason, CCP tells me I shouldn't be able to access the 2911 web interface from the WAN but I still can, so that's a security issue to mitigate if you can.