Options

Networking Job Market in Denver?

JackaceJackace Member Posts: 335
Anyone in the Denver area that can give me a little insight into the Networking market there? I'm in Idaho right now and this area just doesn't have enough networking jobs available. I have been looking for months now and we are lucky if we get 1-2 openings a month posted and almost every opening is for senior level people. I have a few more months before I can financially afford to move, but I have exhausted my resources and my timeline. It is time to start looking in a bigger market.

I have a degree, CCNA, and will have CCNA Security in a couple more weeks. I have experience in help desk, desktop support, and junior system admin and junior network admin tasks. My end goal is to become a Network Engineer.

Any advice you can give would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    inscom.brigadeinscom.brigade Member Posts: 400 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I lived near thier for 17 years, i was just up the hill abit. I left, moved to DC. I moved last October, and i hear that positions are not avalaible.
  • Options
    I'm in Boise right now and there just aren't any positions available for entry level people. I have friends in Salt Lake City and they say things are about the same down there. I was hoping Denver would have more opportunity. I'm at a loss trying to find any place to get a start in Networking.
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I know a couple people who have networking jobs in that area, and indeed a quick job search pops up 80+ positions in search of CCIEs. The characterization of one of my colleagues who lives and works there is that it's not dead but other tech sectors are hotter in that area.
  • Options
    Jackace wrote: »
    I'm in Boise right now and there just aren't any positions available for entry level people.
    In Boise, ID the same search turned up 0 in search of CCIE and 5 in search of CCNA.