Options

STP Designated Port Question

huafisthuafist Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody,
I'm currently studying to take the 640-802 exam, and I'm using the ExamCram 3rd Edition book to prepare for it. So far, I've noticed some pretty glaring mistakes in the book, but I have been able to verify with math or logic that there are errors. However, now I've ran into a problem - I don't know if there's a mistake, or if I'm just not getting something. Here is the diagram:

Diagram.jpg

The question is:
"Which of the following will be the Designated Port for the ethernet segment between switches C and D?
A) Switch C, Fa0/1
B) Switch C, Fa0/2
C) Switch D, Fa0/1
D) Switch D, Fa0/2

The answer provided is:
Answer D is correct. Because D has the lower Root Path Cost (at 19) than C (at 23), D will make its port the Designated port - even though C has a lower Bridge ID.

Now, my question is: If there is a direct 10Mbit link between C and D (at a cost of 100), then with the cost the same in both directions, wouldn't MAC value determine which switch had the Designated Port for that segment? It looks to me like the costs that they show in the answer is the cost from the link through the root switch. Am I missing something?

Thanks for the help guys.
--
Rob Hall

Comments

• Options
    drkatdrkat Banned Posts: 703
    Switch B's Bridge Priority is 1024 - This will be the Root Bridge

Cost from Switch B Gi0/12 to Switch D is 42

Switch B Fa0/1 to Switch C cost is 38 so this is a lower cost to go through Switch D to get to Switch C which is why Switch D has the designated port

(the hub is just an extension of the same link)

During STP election the priority's are compared first and only if there is a tie does the mac address come into play. With all costs being equal and bp's being equal yes the mac's come into play.
  • Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    drkat is right.

The other way to look at it is like this -