Options

Career advice please (UK)

SamA92SamA92 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody, im currently studying for my 70-680 MCTS cert and will probably go for 685/686 aswell and then study for the new MCSE cert. Also may get Comptia A+, N+, S+ if it will help. But how easy would it get a job in IT with these certs vs none or having another IT qualification of some sort? As i dont obviously want to waste any time and want a job in It of some sort as quickly as possible. I honestly dont know and dont mind exactly what i do/want to do in IT but as long as i get my foot in the door in the it industry. I suppose one day my dream job would be to work at microsoft as a software/network engineer/developer (vague i know). I just need some advice in getting there.

Im trying to get another part time job but in any local pc shop which handles repairs/installations etc to give me some experience, but in todays climate thats becoming increasingly difficult as i have zero previous IT experience before this cert im studying for, except for a A level and GCSE which imo count for bull. If there arent any positions i will even do some volunteer work to gain experience if it will help.

Would doing what im doing as in, studying for certs, trying to start off with a local pc company etc be recommended? I understand nobody has a magical answer to instantly land me a decent job but Im guessing a lot of people here have been in the industry for quite a while so would be grateful if you could offer any advice for a newcomer like me in securing a good future in the IT world.

Thanks for any replies :)

Comments

• Options
    Vik210Vik210 Member Posts: 197
    Comptia are generally considered as good start. Study the basics and see if you are motivated for/ wish to write the exam.