Options

Just Another Career Change Thread

foobessionalfoobessional Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey folks, long time lurker here looking for some advice.

I graduated high school back in 2007. Since then, I had a job working retail until the company went bankrupt in 2010. Just like many other individuals in the world, I've struggled to locate any long term employment(I have had a couple temp work jobs in retail, but nothing stable). With that in mind, I want to switch gears and head into the IT sector.

Back in high school, I took two years worth of Cisco Networking classes which I thoroughly enjoyed(heck, it was the only IT class available) Since its been awhile, I am a tad rusty with the material. In regards with education, I have no college experience nor professional experience in IT.

I would love to hear from some people on what a good starting point would be.

A dream goal would be in Security/IA

Comments

• Options
    RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Welcome to TechExams. Home of Nerds and Geeks of many trades.

When you were in NetAcad, did you take your CCNA afterwards? It was optional for my class (First class through). I tried and failed back then. :P

If you're interested in Cisco. Pickup a Book into ICND1/ICND2, or go the full Monte with CCNA Composite.

However, I strongly suggest that you would go the CompTIA route first. Get your feet wet.

1) A+
    2) Network+
    3) Security+

I really wish I studied for Security+. It's an eye opener for a lot of things. It gives you some touches onto other topics - like Microsoft, Cisco, and Security. While people argue against the IT Triad, and it's validity in real-life... Having A+ will atleast give you a certification that you could go out and find a job. Where, though, is a different matter and a different thread. :)