Options

Getting to the next level

sharpy56sharpy56 Member Posts: 106 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I was just wondering, have you ever been in a job for a while, building knowledge of things and thinking "how do I actually get to the next level". I know in my job I can see that I know somethings more then others, but others know more then me in other areas.

Is there a way that you can study something in particular or do something to help "push" yourself up to that next level? Or you have been stuck in this place and how did you get out of it?

Comments

• Options
    YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I'm currently in a position like that, even though I have only been here for 5 months. I'm just beginning to feel comfortable with the network, how to troubleshoot the network, and handling outages. Out of the 25 or so techs, I' competing with probably with 2-3 to be top dog and move to the network engineering team. Luckily, the "top" guy is arrogant and a lot of people in management doesn't like him.

Here's my plan to push me to the next level.

* Finish ICND2
    * Start CCNP
    * Learn wireshark in-depth

With those goals I listed above, I have set a goal of next summer to get to my network engineering team.
  • Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Sure.. I think about it everyday. A large part is what you would consider as the next-level? Education is one one of the factors in career management so its not a silver bullet. Other factors can include: organisational skills, ability to communicate effectively, self representation, and basic self-marketing.
  • Options
    Vik210Vik210 Member Posts: 197
    +1 for Paul.
    That’s what you need. A right mixture of all the ingredients! There is no one thing that can do the trick; otherwise everyone would be doing the same!
  • Options
    drkatdrkat Banned Posts: 703
    im gonna be a cattle driver when i grow up
  • Options