Web development vs mobile app development

davidboydavidboy Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am trying to find one area to specialize in and want to know the pros/cons of each.

Please help me answer these questions:
Which one is more physically/mentally demanding?
Which area pays more?
Which area will be higher demand in the near future?
Which area is more marketable?

If you can offer any other information that would be great. I have always been interested in web development after learning HTML and CSS at a young age. It seems however that mobile app development has more potential.

Comments

• dmoore44dmoore44 Member Posts: 646
    Which one is more physically/mentally demanding?
    Physically - neither. Mentally - probably mobile development... assuming you're going to be writing in native code (i.e. Obj-C for iOS, Java for Android, etc...)

Which area pays more?
    I honestly don't know. I'm not a developer by trade. But I do know that I've seen some ridiculous salaries for both.

Which area will be higher demand in the near future?
    Depends on which way the market moves. Right now, mobile development. But if the mobile web, or web based mobile apps take off...

Which area is more marketable?
    Again, I can't predict the future... So right now, mobile development. But mobile web might take off sometime in the not so distant future (i.e. when HTML 5 comes fully online...)
    Graduated Carnegie Mellon University MSIT: Information Security & Assurance Currently Reading Books on TensorFlow
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I wouldn't aim to go mobile development as an employee. Mobile development seems more attractive to entrepreneurs.