Are systems analysts in demand?

davidboydavidboy Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am in my final year of college and want to get a job in systems analysis when I graduate. I want to work primarily on developing web applications and systems.

It seems that I do not see as many listings for analysts as there are for programmers and developers. I know these positions are not mutually exclusive but I want to work more on the requirements gathering and analysis than the actual programming.

So will be systems analyst be in high demand over the next 10 years?

Would a business case study class be beneficial for a systems analyst?

Would networking skills be of any use for systems analysis or would I be better off learning stick with developing classes?

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    davidboy wrote: »

So will be systems analyst be in high demand over the next 10 years?

Yes, and it is in high demand now as well.

Would a business case study class be beneficial for a systems analyst?

Yes, it's a good idea to take business classes.

Would networking skills be of any use for systems analysis or would I be better off learning stick with developing classes?

Honestly, it's not very useful. Web development is your priority. Basic networking knowledge is important for anyone in IT, but you need a class for this.

Start working as a web developer first. After years of experience, you can move to Systems Analyst role, or business analyst. For the time being, focus on web development.
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

• N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Agree with Unix

A close friend of mine is a system analyst.

Some technologies and skills he uses a lot of:
    • UML
    • Web Logic
    • SQL
    • Prioritary systems and hardware (He is in the power grid industry)