Options

MSc in Computer Science Question.

hell911hell911 Member Posts: 83 ■■■□□□□□□□
Guys, I have 1 question.

Does MSc in Computer Science have a lot of programming or not? :)

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Typically CS does involve a lot programming.
  • Options
    Vik210Vik210 Member Posts: 197
    There should ‘ideally’ be at least one compulsory programing language. I had JAVA and I must say that was difficult for me, may be because I never liked programming.
  • Options
    @Vik

So, you finished MSc in Computer Science and now working in Networking field?
  • Options
    Kind of.. I did my masters in CS and took all the electives from networking. I just can’t do programming. I know it’s a big disadvantage but I can’t help. It’s simply not for me.
    I worked as a system admin and now I am on the IT management side.
  • Options
    really, dont they give like entrance test when you get in the MSc program, im also somewhat not good in programming thats why i want in other side, maybe database or networking.
  • Options
    I don’t think so but it may differ from country to country. I was in touch with couple of professors from the university I was applying for and they got me the offer letter.
    I personally have no experience about Canadian universities (you are still talking about Canada – right?) but if you are going as an international student they will take you if you are ready to pay the fees. This goes with an exception to very high standard universities.
  • Options
    im thinking of applying in University of Toronto.
  • Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    In addition to programming, there is a heavy math component (Calculus, Discrete Structures, etc.) If you're not into math, CS may not be for you.