Options

A+, N+, S+ and ...?

.38.38 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everybody,

I know you are all sick of this question but what's next? :)
I've no experience in IT field neither any college degree which sucks. (Been working with PC for the last 5 years, repairing, installing and stuff like that but that doesn't count) So this year I've discovered that there are 100s of certs available and did A+, N+ and S+ and I believe that even these certs won't help me getting any IT job but still I want to keep going. I'm thinking of CCNA and CCNP or some MS - MCSA/MCSE, not even sure what it's going to be like. I'm interested in networking and SQL DBA which I believe is in MCSA/MCSE Server 2012? I'm also confused about all these changes every 3 years. For example I'll spend 1 year to do the MCSE or more not sure how long it should take. So you have 2 years left. Looking for a job might take a wile, lets say 1 more year the most. And we are left with 1 more year till some other Server 2015 will come out is it really how it works? You have to trash your Server 2012 and start from scratch with possibly future 2015? What about CCNP, do I need to resit an exam or it's like CompTia CE? And is it possible to pass it without any hands on hardware?

You might also recommend some programming/scripting languages like SQL, PHP to learn that are useful for network administrator or MCSE related. When it is a good time to learn'em?

Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod