Options

Have a very big predicament with a job offer

tom_dubtom_dub Member Posts: 59 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all,

Little background on me. I'm 25 years old and currently in school for Computer Science. I have no IT or software work experience and I am looking to get a year or so of that in before I graduate to make job opportunities more plentiful.

Today I had a technical interview and basically a job offer for a helpdesk position doing user support for a very large military base. The job requires a secret clearance which they'll sponsor, also pays more than what I make now and is excellent experience as far as moving up in the industry.

Only problem is my school schedule is very random. Higher level CS courses are going to be from Monday-Thursday morning and afternoon hours. The hiring manager e-mailed me saying that I look like an excellent candidate, but the company aren't willing to consider anyone unless open for all shifts, but MIGHT work with me on my schedule, but no guarantees. I don't really want to give them the run around by going through the secret clearance process to ultimately find I cannot work the shifts. I'll also be out of work, because I have to give my current job a 2 week notice. I'm really at a crossroads on what to do. I spoke with some people who told me just to do what I'm doing now and put school #1, that these types of positions open all the time and in the future I'll be able to work it. Still, I really want to get experience in this field and will feel pretty bummed if I have to turn this down. What to do?

Comments

• Options
    AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    Honestly I would say take it. Having someone to sponser you for your secret clearance is HUGE and they're likely to work with you on the schedule after because they don't want to sponser someone else for the clearance. If they really won't then put school #1, quit and find work with your clearance elsewhere.

You may never get an opportunity like this again.
  • Options