Options

Really Horrible Interview

New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All, I graduated recently with a Bachelors of Arts in Information Technology Management. Most of coursework was in programming and software development. I also interned for 6 months working with the Database Administrator and I assisted her in software development projects. I had an interview for a position as a Programmer, but I got stuck and there 6 questions and I could only answer 3 of the six. I felt so embarassed and the interviewers looked even more embarrased for me. The questions were so simple too, but I just couldn't remember. Here are 2 of the 3 I couldn't answer.

1) How do you authenticate a SQL Syntax Server?
2) How do you join SQL tables?

I feel SO STUPID because I learned all this school and I also joined tables as an intern, but my mind went blank. Needless to say they never called me back. How can I do better in interviews. I know I need to study harder, but my mind always goes blank because I get really nervous and I blurt, "I don't know." Please Help.. It looks as if I won't have a future in I.T. icon_sad.gif

Comments

• Options
    dmoore44dmoore44 Member Posts: 646
    Prior to your interview, brush up on your basics and then do a google search for common interview questions for the position you're interviewing for. Study those common interview questions and the basics for a few days prior to your interview - that should help to cover your bases.
    Graduated Carnegie Mellon University MSIT: Information Security & Assurance Currently Reading Books on TensorFlow
  • Options
    ChickenNuggetzChickenNuggetz Member Posts: 284