Options

New to Networking

CorrstaCorrsta Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

Apart from setting up my home network, I have no networking experience at all. I'm looking to get my CCNA followed by my CCNP in the next few years. I just picked up CBT Nuggets' training course for CCENT/CCNA and was wondering if anyone has used their training videos in the past. It contains about 30-40 hours of training, even though I've heard from friends that it takes 200-400 hours of real training to pass the exam. Does anyone know if their training program is sufficient to pass?

Comments

• Options
    lantechlantech Member Posts: 329
    The CBT Nuggets have a pretty good reputation. With that being said, people who use videos usually supplement that with other material just as books from Odom and Lammle. The reason being is that the videos that are out there are good for a general understanding but the books go into more technical detail. At least that's what I keep hearing.

I did the Cisco Netacademy courses at my local community college and then got the books from Odom. It has been a couple of years since I have taken the courses and never got around to taking the exams until now. So I have some studying to do. But it's still good and I probably would do it the same way. I just wouldn't have waited so long to start getting the certification.
    2012 Certification Goals

CCENT: 04/16/2012
    CCNA: TBD
  • Options
    IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    It's best to study with a book. In IT, you're going to be reading a LOT of books to get the job you want.
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • Options
    JeanMJeanM Member Posts: 1,117
    What the previous members said, CBT Nuggets is good but not enough alone w/o a good book (like the Sybex or CiscoPress guides).
    2015 goals - ccna voice / vmware vcp.
  • Options
    Prasad SatavPrasad Satav Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□