Options

What degree to help me in my career

amb1s1amb1s1 Member Posts: 408
Hi, I'm a network engineer for a large Provider. I'm also a CCNP and planning to be a ccie in the future with the help of my employer. I want to go back to college, but I don't want to take the same thing tha I'm doing in my job because I will find that I'm going to be more advance. What degree should I take that it will incorporate with my career in some way that will be make me a better Engineer? Thanks in advance.
David G.
http://gomezd.com <
My Tshoot test Blog
http://twitter.com/ipnet255

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If you don't just want to learn about what you already do, be sure to stay away from infrastructure-focused degrees. WGU, which is very popular here, would not be good for your goals, in my opinion.

I would suggest you pick one of two directions:
    Option one is to go towards a more business-focused degree, meaning maybe some MIS degrees, and definitely business administration, economics, or an MBA if you are looking at graduate degrees. I don't know that these will make you a better engineer, but they will (hopefully) help you better align technology with business needs by improving your understanding of those needs.

Option two is to go heavily technical: Get a computer science undergrad and probably a master's degree after that. There are plenty of applications for the mixture of the knowledge taught by computer science and the skills a network engineer has. There is little doubt a computer science degree would make you a better engineer.

Avoid: CIS, IT, IS, Network Administration, etc.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • Options