Options

Help with Books please (Read the FAQ)

Stevo7Stevo7 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all, Looking for a little advice here. I have been reading around the forums and find them extremely useful. Im after some guidance on book purchases i have made in haste.

A little info on me to help get the best advice =)

Ive just started studying to sit my ICND1 exam a few weeks ago. Im looking at a career change from management to IT (Networking and Systems admin) I have always wanted to do Network Engineering since i was 15 or so, Ive been building PCs since i was 13-14 and IT is my passion. I started Studying a diploma of network engineering i had to drop out of due to some Real life issues.

I have a basic knowledge of networking. I have been reading through the cisco press ICND1 book and its cementing the knowledge i had previous so far (Im not up to the tricky stuff yet!) Im loving it. I watched the CBT Nuggets videos first, which i thought helped a lot before actually reading the book aswell. (Its obviously hard to cover in a video but the book has A LOT! more information and depth of information)

Enough on that! I need some guidance on books to buy to head me off into my path. I hope one day to in a data center type of environment. I purchased a set of Cisco Press (Wendell Odom) CCENT/CCNA (ICND1&2) Books printed 2008 (i believe they are second edition) I feel these are current enough to study from. I also (Impulse buy) purchased a collection of cisco press books off of ebay. However upon receiving the books i have found they are quite old. also there are books there i wont need for a long time but i got them to page through to get some more knowledge.

I would like some guidance what path i should head to eventually (after quite some years of experience in the field when i transition over) my CCIE: Data center .