Options

Question regarding VPNs and static IPs

flipk337flipk337 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good afternoon everyone,

I am currently working on a project, and just need to verify some knowledge as I am still new to it.

Basically, I have a server in which I will be creating virtual machines. Now each of these virtual machines will need a connection to each clients site. So we host the server, client is located elsewhere and needs a constant connection to us. We will probably have roughly 10 of these virtual machines, so my question is:

Do I need a static IP address from my ISP so that each client can have a connection to us at all times? My plan is to get optimum and they will be giving us 5 IPs. I also will be getting a Juniper router with a fail-over connection, so no down time.

I appreciate this guys and it'd be great if this community could help me out, cheers!

Comments

• Options
    it_consultantit_consultant Member Posts: 1,903
    You should only need to dedicate one IP on your side for this to terminate the VPN's. If you were doing a direct punch in (no VPN, opening holes in the firewall and routing them in) you would need to either have one IP per client or port jump. Assuming you are setting up a VPN for each client, one public IP can handle as many connections as your firewall can handle.
  • Options
    m3zillam3zilla Member Posts: 172
    It depends on how big you are, and how many clients you plan on bringing on. If you're using private IP for the "interesting traffic" or encryption domain, you have to be mindful of overlapping IP(s). For example, both client A and client B are using the 10.1.1.0/24 address space.
  • Options
    Thanks for the replies guys. Potentially there can be about 100+ clients. The connection needs to be secure as well. The idea would be that each of the clients sites they would be using 192.168.0.0/24, I just don't plan on having any client have trunking or communication between the LANs. perhaps my logic is flawed.