Options

Is the A+ certification still Relevant

klhatchettklhatchett Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey All, I have been contemplating between pursuing the A+ and Network+ certifications, but people keep telling me the A+ certification is pretty much useless, just wanted input from professionals who have actually worked in the IT field on what I should do (the people who have been telling me it is useless are college students themselves who do not hold any certifications), I am currently an Info Security student so I will definitely will be getting my Security+ certification, but I am unsure if it will be a waste to go after the A+ and/or Network+

Thanks
Look me up on LinkedIn, Lets Connect! http://www.linkedin.com/in/klhatchett92

Comments

• Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I suppose it depends on what is meant by useless and a waste.

I don't understand why someone that is starting off in their IT career would say that learning new relevant knowledge is useless or a waste. If you already know the material that is covered in the A+ then it may not be worth the effort.
  • Options
    The A+ is mandatory for many employers and almost all jobs where you touch hardware with your grubby little paws, so you should obtain it. Is it relevant? Sort of. Much of the material is throw-away knowledge that you're not going to retain after you've taken the exam but it does serve it's purpose.
  • Options
    paul78 wrote: »
    I suppose it depends on what is meant by useless and a waste.

I don't understand why someone that is starting off in their IT career would say that learning new relevant knowledge is useless or a waste. If you already know the material that is covered in the A+ then it may not be worth the effort.