Options

New to IT , considering WGU....

IT69IT69 Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey all! Im new to the IT field and after a lot of browsing this board for bit and getting my A+ I am considering applying for WGU. Aside from the A+ I am completely new to the IT field having never had an IT job......I am sure this would make WGU considerably more difficult, I am considering maybe getting my N+ and S+ while maybe getting a geek squad/technician type job somewhere but honestly would like to get to work on a Bachelors ASAP. Once enrolled I will dedicate 45+ hours a week to study and I do qualify for Pell Grants that would make the cost considerably lower than the 3k per term.My goal is to finish in 4 terms. I am looking for any advice and direction as I am sure that many on this board have been in a similar situation to mine, thanks so much.

Comments

• Options
    bdubbdub Member Posts: 154
    Which one of WGU's programs are you looking at or are you undecided?
  • Options
    bdub wrote: »
    Which one of WGU's programs are you looking at or are you undecided?

Im definitely leaning towards the BS IT with no emphasis, as I have generally heard it can be completed quicker than the others. I am not sure which area of IT I am going to venture into but sure I will know once obtaining more certifications and knowledge.
  • Options
    bdubbdub Member Posts: 154
    In that case I think you will be fine not having any prior experience in IT. The certs in that course are all pretty entry level and do not require a lot of previous knowledge in order to pass. If you can commit 45+ hours a week like you say than you should have no problem.

That degree, with those certs, will definitely set you apart from others looking for entry level jobs.

Sounds like you have a good plan, I say go for it.
  • Options
    IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□