CISSP Journey

thegreenlaanternthegreenlaantern Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Long time reader first time poster.

I First heard about CISSP in March 2009. My employer offered to send coworkers and myself to a Private Official ISC2 Bootcamp in April 2009. We only had five weeks to study before the bootcamp. Eighteen of us took the test in a private test environment and waited the usual 4+ weeks. We all received our results on the same day. Five of my coworkers passed, thirteen of us did not.
Since then I have acheived several technical certifications, but always planned to go back for the CISSP. February 2012 I started studying again for the test planning to take it in April 2012 (three years after my first attempt). I found this site (TechExams.net) and used it as a mentor to point me in the right direction toward my goal. My resources were the Conrad books, CISSP for Dummies and CISSP Flash Cards. I took the test on April 14, in a room full of other hopefuls. Two other coworkers from my original Bootcamp tried retaking the test before my second attempt, both did not acheive the Certification. I waited five weeks and 3 days after the test to get my score of 673.

I felt I knew the material the second time, but I did not like the Proctored walk-around test environment. This was not like the Computer Tech Certification Tests I was used to and didn't feel like the environment I originally took the CISSP test in. I rushed my attempt and felt I should have taken more time.