Certifications which Will Help grow within a Big IT Service Provider

Hello All, I am a new user here. I am a recent graduate after completeting a Computer Science Degree and have managed to land myself a "Service Desk Analyst" role within a Large IT Service Provider (Fujtsu).

I am hoping to grow and develop within the business and I am basically just asking which certifications which could help me do this. I am not 100% sure on which area I would like to focus on in IT however I do have a strong passion for Networking/Security and also the buisness side of IT.

I have studied the CCNA material within my degree and now am looking to actually review the material and go on and sit my exam. Would you reccomend sitting the exam via ICN1 and ICN2 this will also allow me to get CCENT too? What are your views on the cisco certs are they that valuable? I've been told that taking the CCNA exam all in one sitting can be quite hard?

Also could anyone reccomend any Certs which will help you go down the business side of IT? I feel that here at Fujistu as its such a big organization Certs like ITIL etc would be vital for working your way up through the ranks. Is this true or could you recommend anything else which could help?

Any other input from any users who work for large IT Service providers would be much appreciated also.

Cheers!

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    StussyNz wrote: »
    Would you reccomend sitting the exam via ICN1 and ICN2 this will also allow me to get CCENT too?
    That would be a poor reason to sit both exams. Many people have not even heard of the CCENT, and those who have, know the CCNA includes that and more.
    What are your views on the cisco certs are they that valuable?
    Sure, both in its own right and as a gateway to higher certifications.
    I've been told that taking the CCNA exam all in one sitting can be quite hard?