Options

SSCP or CEH

rstrong4rstrong4 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I recently passed my Security+ certification two weeks ago and I also have A+ which I achieved last year. As of 9/25/2012 my unit is giving me two options to take either CEH ( Certified Ethical Hacker) or SSCP ( Systems Security Certified Practitioner) because to use certain systems in my unit we have to be certified with a higher certification (Level II) in accordance to DOD 8570. No one in my unit has taken the SSCP (that I know of) because its harder than the CEH but CEH has nothing to do with my job at all. My question is which one is more valuable if I were to get out and get a DOD job? I may be able to get both but I am not sure if that is smart because those certifications go down two different roads. I want to stay in the security field because my major is Computer Network and Security and if I get security certifications that will increase my resume/credibility for when I try to get a good contracting job IF I were to get out of the AF. Any advice would be awesome. Thanks a lot.

Comments

• Options
    IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Check this link: DoD 8570 Information Assurance Workforce Improvement Program
    DoD 8570 also relates to DoD jobs, not just to contractors.
    Fall 2014: Start MA in Mathematics [X]
    Fall 2016: Start PhD in Mathematics [X]
  • Options
    spicy ahispicy ahi Member Posts: 413 ■■□□□□□□□□