Do you use MDF/Krone for PBX,phones?

yuddhidhtiryuddhidhtir Member Posts: 197 ■■■■□□□□□□
We currently support a lot of different process out of which some are call centre, we have Avaya,avhan. I know what is MDF, but have not heard from anyone from the internet using these for phones in the server room, I did asked the Avaya support person whether in other companies they use this, he said they use something like patchpanel and they dont have to punch wires in the blocks instead just switch connectors, also in my company they call it Krone, is this a company or a type of MDF? I am new to supporting voice so sorry if i sound dumb, also are there good books,certification for Avaya other than their websites, we use Avaya IP office 406.
Thanks in advance
“Satisfaction lies in the effort, not in the attainment; full effort is full victory.”

Comments

• grechygrechy Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Krone is a brand which produces telecommunication equipment, cables, frames, ect. The MDF\IDF is just where the phone system patches to and the this is called an 11way krone frame and you need to use a krone tool to terminate the wires in Australia you need an open cabling license to do this.
  • yuddhidhtiryuddhidhtir Member Posts: 197 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Thanks for the explanation, If we have to change employee extension phone number we have to punch the wire to the block belonging to that desk, is this how works in other companies?
    “Satisfaction lies in the effort, not in the attainment; full effort is full victory.”
  • grechygrechy Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If it is a TDM based PABX yes. But if there is already an extension and the know the card address you can do it in the phone system.
  • MickQMickQ Member Posts: 628 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You might find that the phone wires have been brought from the Krone blocks out to a standard 8pin (RJ45 style) patchpanel. In this case, all you have to do is patch from this panel to the user's wall socket patch panel.