New to CISCO

makronikmakronik Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi :). The title says it all. I wanted to ask couple of questions about CCNA course as a whole:

Q1: Which book do you strongly suggest to buy in order to understand they theory and the exam for CCNA.

Q2: I live in UK and I find it hard to find a decent academy or a boot-camp to learn practical from it. , I got couple of websites, but they do not seem legit, can someone recommend?

Q3. If I am new to CCNA, is it a good start?

Comments

• TehToGTehToG Member Posts: 194
    Book: There are two. I used and will recommend Todd Lammles 7th Edition CCNA book. (sybex). There is an equally good odom book too.

Method: Self study and buying your own gear is the cheapest if you can stay motivated. Avoid 'practice exams' or ****. These are cheating and can get you banned from cisco certifications for life. Bootcamps are only good if you know the material (Work in the industry) and need to (re)certify fast.

Path: CCNA is a hefty certification. If you are completely new to PCs I'd suggest CompTIAs A+ first. If you are good with computers and new to networking I'd recommend looking at CompTIA Network+ or Cisco ICND1. ICND1 will get you half way to CCNA but the material tends to assume you know a bit about the subject.

What level of background do you have in computing? Why do you want to do the CCNA course?

I presume 3 is a good start into the world of networking. That's also the right book. GNS3 can't do switching which i'm sure ICND2 needs for spanning tree.
    VVV
  • oli356oli356 Member Posts: 364
    1) The usual books are the Odom ones CCNA 640-802 Official Cert Library: Amazon.co.uk: Wendell Odom: Books
    and the Sybex, Lamme ones which I think is this: CCNA: Cisco Certified Network Associate Study Guide 640-802 : Exam 640-802. 640-802: Amazon.co.uk: Todd Lammle: Books
    I bought the The Ultimate CCNA Study Package 2012, thought it was good for the price