Cheapeast Physical Cisco Equipment that can help pass CCENT and CCNA

StussyNzStussyNz Member Posts: 177
So i'm studying towards my CCENT and CCNA and would like to know what is some of the cheapest equipment/setups(Routers/Switches) which I could invest in for my own personal lab?

I am looking to go on and sit CCNA Security and Voice after finishing my CCNA, if I could use this equipment for these certifications it would be great also.

I reside in New Zealand so some input from some New Zealand members would also be appreciated of the best places to purchase the equipment.

Cheers.

Comments

• RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Equipment for CCNA:Security: ASA 5505, and a 1841 router to run the IOS firewall. Also, you can setup VPNs with both.

Yes. You can just emulate it on GNS3... Although, Im not sure about doing the IOS firewall on GNS3.

you might want to take a look at my signature, too. for CCNA.

As far as Voice. I don't know, Haven't really delved into that topic yet :D
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• StussyNzStussyNz Member Posts: 177

I understand that I can use GNS3 and Packet tracer to pass CCENT and CCNA; However would really like to get physical equipment to be able to get hands on :)

Hate being so isolated here in New Zealand... Dosen't seem to be much 2nd hand equipment around.
  • NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would buy a setup on eBay and then have it shipped to you. You may decide that a (somewhat) significant investment in gear to help you learn is worth the cost, given the returns you going receive.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • StussyNzStussyNz Member Posts: 177

Thanks for your input. Living in New Zealand isn't easy, the shipping costs are through the roof! 200$ just to get them shipped here :\