Options

Gaming center / cybercafe network setup

causancausan Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, I am helping setup a gaming center/ cyber cafe which will have 25 gaming pcs, 10 internet browsing pcs and 6 consoles. Luckily, our location was previously a gaming center and is already wired with drop cables installed so all we need is just the backbone equipment. Since I am new to networking and Im barely gonna take my Network+ exam next week we had someone come in and do a estimate and this is his recommendations:
1000' Black Solid CAT6 - $150
Amazon.com: Cable Matters 1000ft Bulk Cat6 Cable UTP Solid In-Wall Rated (CM) 550MHz 23AWG in Black: Computers & Accessories

50 CAT6 Heads - $35
Amazon.com: Platinum Tools 100010C EZ-RJ45 Cat 6+ Connectors, Clamshell, 50-Pieces: Weather Report: Home Improvement

2x 24 Port Patch Panels - 80
Amazon.com: TRENDnet 24-port Cat6 Unshielded Patch Panel TC-P24C6: Electronics

ASA5505 Firewall Appliance - $450
Amazon.com: Cisco ASA5505-SEC-BUN-K9 ASA 5500 Series Adaptive Security Router Appliance: Electronics

Cisco 1841 - $300
Amazon.com: Cisco CISCO1841 1841 Integrated Services Router: Electronics

APC SMARTUPS - $1200
Amazon.com: APC Smart-UPS RM SMT3000RM2U 2700W/3000VA 2U 120V LCD UPS System: Electronics

3x Procurve 1800-24G switches - $495
provided

1x HP Proliant dl380 G4 with Xencenter and a few VMs (MS Server AD Domain, DHCP, DNS, File/print?) - $800
provided

2x 3TB external Drives for file/non-VM storage - $300
Amazon.com: Western Digital My Book Essential 3 TB USB 3.0/2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive: Electronics

Labor - $1000

total = 4810 give or take based on availability/price of amazon items

Total implementation time when parts are delivered: 8-10 hours, most likely get done on a Saturday.
Does this look reasonable? Any feed back would be great thanks.

* Also the former owners left a server rack with a 24 port patch panel and a camera security system.

Here is a couple of pictures of the server room:

Comments