Options

PHP MYSQL gurus please help

binarysoulbinarysoul Member Posts: 993
I did all I could to find a solution to my problem, but I couldn't.

I have a MYSQL database with a few tables and want users to search for data. It's a book database and I want users to search by title, ISBN, author and etc. I tried to code it myself, hell no, I'm not a programmer. I tried some online scripts and tutorials, no go.

I then searched for online databases, cloud-based, came across a few products but they are expensive. I also considered MS Access and Sharepoint services; but that is tailored towards for internal company use.

So, I'm wondering if you could refer me to a source, program or any resource that I could implement a search script to fetch results from MYSQL database. Hosting is all on a Linux box.

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    This would literally take 30s in a properly configured SharePoint site. SharePoint Foundation is free and can be used with SQL Server Express (also free) why not use it?
  • Options
    NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Send me the table names and column names. I'll write you a sql script that will search
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • Options
    So there are a few problems with just writing these scripts and setting up a web site for this company that I strongly urge the OP to consider.

1. SQL Injection is a real problem with systems like this by inexperienced people. People responding to this thread strongly need to consider this when offering to help the OP. We have no idea anything about the other tables in this DB or what it is used for or really anything. It's unclear if this is a production DB used in the company currently or if it is one the user intends on creating.

2. If you, the OP, no longer work for this company as of tomorrow, who is going to support this?