VoIP Scenario

juliorcpjuliorcp Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Guys!

At first, I would like to thank all of you, I always follow this forum and helped me a lot to get my CCENT. Although not topic for CCNA, I have a big problem with L3 switch and DHCP Server on a router. I can't understand completely the concept of "trunk native" and "access mode".

I have the scenario in attachment and I would like to configure correctly (with voice vlan and data vlan). Anyone can help me in that? Remembering that I just want to understand the concept. For example: which interfaces I need to configure as a trunk (dot1q and others).

I'm from Brazil and I'm studying english too, so... sorry for my bad english!

Thanks!

Comments

• zrockstarzrockstar Member Posts: 378
    Trunk ports are used to carry traffic with VLAN tags. End devices have no concept of their VLAN, so access ports are used for end devices as they do not carry tagged traffic. The switch knows what ports belong to which VLAN and as the data comes into the switch from an access port the switch will tag it with the appropriate VLAN and send it through the trunk. Trunk lines are a member of all VLAN unless you specify otherwise, so your trunk lines should be the lines between your switches and routers/L3s. I haven't worked with VOIP or L3 switches, but based off of what I know I believe this to be the same, maybe a pro will chime in and confirm. Your English is great by the way, and welcome to TE!
  • Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Which interfaces you want to set to trunk really depends whats being connected to it. If you plan on connecting a pc to the switchport then no need to set it as a trunk port but if you connecting a phone to it then you do. Also, if the pc is connected to the phone and the phone is connected to the switch you need to set it as a trunk port. You have to setup 2 vlans for voice and data.