new performance based qestions?

naftalirnaftalir Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
hey i am currently studying for my security+ exam and i really don't have much hands on experience as i am in high school i was wondering how can i pass the security+ exam with there new performance based questions, and how i can get hands on experience on the material?

thanks

Comments

• DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    When the performance based questions on the Security+ exam start appearing in 2013, you're very likely to see some command prompt questions. These are the easiest for programmers to create.

I imagine that some of these will be similar to the performance based questions on the CASP. When I took the beta (CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (Beta Exam) My Experience) all of the performance based questions were from the command prompt.

The best way to prepare is to become very familiar with the command prompt. Learning the command prompt and basic commands from the A+ and Network+ exams is helpful. People that typed in all the commands to see how they worked while preparing for those exams will have the basics needed for the Security+. If you're not familiar with the command prompt, the Windows 7 Portable Command Guide (ISBN-13: 978-0789747350 ) shows basic usage with the purpose of giving you just what you need to know for most situations rather than how to use every possible switch in every possible combination. If you type the commands in this book, you'll have typos and be able to fix them and that will give you some good hands on experience with the command prompt.

You don't necessarily have to use Windows 7 to learn the command prompt. Many commands will work similarly from one operating system to another. Discovering these differences is also a good way to build your hands on experience.