Options

Planning for the CCIE R&S

wavewave Member Posts: 342
Hi everyone,

I've been trawling through posts here for a few days now. I passed TSHOOT today and am starting to map out a path to CCIE R&S. I'm reading the non-technical guide to the CCIE lab at present...

There seems to be some debate over when the written exam should be taken. I've read that some people push it off, essentially prepping for the written and lab at the same time.

I've seen all the massive reading lists people have been using for the written exam, like Steve's here: My CCIE reading list! « CCIE or Null!

Now, the way I studied for the CCNA/CCNP was to read a chapter taking detailed notes as I went. I then labbed for 1-2 weeks on each topic, referring to my notes until I had a solid grasp of the material. I studied for 3.5 hours a day Mon-Fri and 9am-5pm Sat/Sun (sometimes just til 3pm) for 95% of weekends. I plan on a similar study schedule for the IE.

Based on the time-frame people are knocking out the written exam I'm guessing there is simply more reading than labbing going on? Because the lists of books I've seen amount to a huge amount of reading. Or, are people not reading these books cover to cover? Obviously a certain amount of repetition is essential.

It seems the Cisco Press OCG is a foundation, with the vol 1 & 2 books + mpls & qos books as more detailed supplements. Are you reading the OCG and then picking and choosing from the other books?

ROUTE Passed 1 May 2012
SWITCH Passed 25 September 2012
TSHOOT Passed 23 October 2012
Taking CCNA Security in April 2013 then studying for the CISSP

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod