Options

Question to IT Managers

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
Maybe this is some topic in a management course I may have missed or slept through, but as a manager I find myself hiring resources that I find myself week in.

Example I am managing a deskside and desktop effort. The last delivery lead ran a lean shop with a lot more deployment guys. They do bring in the billables but I am concerned with being to thin on the break fix side. I feel I can teach break fix guys deployment and installations. Where as the opposite doesn't really hold true.

Is this just a situation of me being more aligned with the service needs or just giving into my insecurities?

Comments

• Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I think there really is no right answer since you have only been at the company for less than a year. The previous lead may have staffed the team in a particular way based on his/her experience with the business. Also, the prevalent business conditions at the time may have dictated the staffing model.

I do think that part of any staffing model needs to be related to the type of culture that you are seeking in the organization. For example - there is a school of though that you hire lots of A, B, C players to get a mix of skill level and can afford more head-count. And there is also the thought that you should only hire the best. But by hiring the best, you limit the number of head-count. I think that having small but highly skilled staff only really works in high-pace smaller companies. Larger companies that have to scale needs all types of skill level.

Other thing to think about is succession planning - are you hiring people that are different in skill because they complement or contrast your skills - who would take over your job if you wanted to get promoted?