Successfully installed CUCM 8.6 on VMware ESXi 5 in 13hrs

rchaserchase Member Posts: 126
Its 1am here on the west coast and I have just successfully logged into my CUCM web interface that is installed on my 16gb ram HP Workstation running VMware ESXi 5 VMvisor and vSphere client on my laptop to connect to the server and manage the VMs.

I have a Subscriber and a Unity Connection install still running in their VMs and seem to be moving along smoothly.

I cannot express the joy inside. 13hours of one wall after another. And now I have conquered them all.

I plan to post a followup to this thread with a list of tips for the next guy. After I get some sleep that is and rational thought process returns.

Comments

• chopstickschopsticks Member Posts: 389
    Congrads! How will you configure PSTN call after this?
  • stlsmoorestlsmoore Member Posts: 515 ■■■□□□□□□□
    looking toward to the tips, I'm slowly setting up my lab and I have the PUB halfway installed and my equipment racked.
    My Cisco Blog Adventure: http://shawnmoorecisco.blogspot.com/

Don't Forget to Add me on LinkedIn!
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/shawnrmoore
  • rchaserchase Member Posts: 126
    INSTALLING CUCM PUB and SUB, and CUC on VMware ESXi 5:

TIPS:
    Here's a list of my trials and errors, this should save the next guy many hours of frustration -

So I finally obtained my UC 8.6 install CD. The first thing I did was boot up my ACER ASPIRE x1200 with 3gb ram, 500gb hd, AMD 64 processor. (I have a 16gb HP Workstation, but it is my main computer with Windows 7 etc so I wanted to first try it out on my lab computer.)

1. Booted the ACER into its OS which is Ubuntu 12.04, then created a VM in Virtualbox and loaded the ISO. No output at all, wouldn't boot up.

2. Proceeded to read many useless forum articles.