Options

Thinking of building Home lab in near future for CCNP

goldenlightgoldenlight Member Posts: 378 ■■□□□□□□□□
At this time in my studies I don't see a need because I am studying CCNA Exploration. Packet Tracer seems to be doing everything I need right now.
MY question is How does one keep up with latest info? I hear Cisco is working on a 15.0 IOS..

I looked over the post in the CCNA FAQ, but most of the info is preety old.

I wouldn't want to buy a bundle or router that wasn't upgradedable to latest IOS>
Would Like to learn as much as possible about these routers and Swicthes so I can be a better infomed buyer.
I fear buying electronics from Ebay icon_surprised.gif. I like buying my stuff new.
The Only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven't found it keep looking. Don't settle - Steve Jobs

Comments

• Options
    jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
  • Options
    JeanMJeanM Member Posts: 1,117
    I hope you know how much new routers/switches cost for ccnp level lab...
    2015 goals - ccna voice / vmware vcp.
  • Options
    jsb515jsb515 Member Posts: 253
    I wouldn't want to buy a bundle or router that wasn't upgradedable to latest IOS>
    Would Like to learn as much as possible about these routers and Swicthes so I can be a better informed buyer.
    I fear buying electronics from Ebay icon_surprised.gif. I like buying my stuff new.

Once you see the prices of new vs used you will change your mind lol, i've been buying routers and switches for the last few months off ebay and finding retired routers and switches around my work place. It takes time, and money to build a lab and most including myself recommend buying piece by piece. You can also just load the lastest IOS in GNS 3 if you just want to learn any new commands.
  • Options
    Didn't realize they were that expensive new. Will revisit this topic when I earn my CCNA.

I guest I will read the faq to figure out how to hook it up.
    thanks for the advice..