Options

In need of Advice. Stuck in a rut.

Tim_STim_S Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

First time poster from the UK who really needs some advice on which certificates to take.

First some background. I currently work in a 1st line/Helpdesk environment, which I have been doing for the last 2 1/2 years. Pays not all bad but no progression possibilities (I was offered a 2nd line role, but a week later it was announced that most of our 2nd line work was to be off-shored). Before this I worked on another help desk for a large PC/Electrical store providing customers with support.

Academically, I studied business at university but quickly decided that I was much more interested in IT than the business world (been a "geek" all my life, built my first PC when ~I was 9). I have an IT A Level but fell out of love of it at school due to the way it was taught.

Knowledge wise I feel I have a handle on all the basics and use AD/remote support tools regularly.

I'm not sure whether to bother with something like A+ as I feel this would be a waste of time/money as I feel my experience shows I know most of this already. I'm looking to get into a 2nd line role, but not sure which certification would help me achieve this. I was thinking about going for Network+ but not sure if this is the right option to help me achieve my goals.

Any advice regarding what certification to go for would be gladly received.

Thanks, Tim.

Comments

• Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hi Tim,

welcome to the forums.
    Tim_S wrote: »
    I was thinking about going for Network+ but not sure if this is the right option to help me achieve my goals.

Well, what are your goals, what would you want your next step and the step after that to be?

I think something like Network+ is always valuable as it will bring your Troubleshooting Skills to a new level. Once you understand how Switches and Routers work you will be able to identify problems much quicker.

Regards,